About Us

The Canadian Journalism Project’s websites, J-Source.ca (English) and ProjetJ.ca (French), are produced by a collaboration of post-secondary journalism schools and programs led by Ryerson University, Université Laval and Carleton University, and supported by a group of benefactors including publishers, labour and others who believe in excellence in journalism and its strong and vital future.

Our goal is to promote national discussion about journalism as well as providing a source for news, research, commentary, advice and resources for industry professionals, scholars and students. Your comments, suggestions and offers of support are very welcome.

Contact J-Source:

Publisher: Chris Waddell (Carleton University School of Journalism)
Room 4302C, River Building, 1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 5B6
613.520.2600 ext 8495

Editor-in-Chief: Bruce Gillespie (Wilfrid Laurier University)

519.756.8228 x5862


Editorial Centre (Ryerson University School of Journalism): Room RCC-141, 350 Victoria Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2K3


416.979.5000 ext 7433

Editor-in-Chief, J-Source Bruce Gillespie, Wilfrid Laurier University
Rédactrice en chef, ProjetJ Hélène Roulot-Ganzmann
Associate Editor, J-Source Tamara Baluja
Editor-at-Large Paul Benedetti, Western University
Ask a Mentor Editor Canadian Association of Journalists
Book Reviews Editor Dan Rowe, Humber College
Education Editor Charles Hays, Thompson Rivers University
Ethics Editor, English Romayne Smith Fullerton, Western University
Field Notes Editor Julie McCann, Algonquin College
Findings Editor David Secko and Lisa Lynch, Concordia University
Ideas Editor David McKie, CBC
Innovation Editor Robert Washburn, Loyalist College
International Reporting Bureau Editor Carey French, Humber College
Law Editor Thomas Rose, Wilfrid Laurier University
Photojournalism Editor Mark Taylor, University of Regina
Executive Video Editor Nicole Blanchett Neheli, Sheridan College
Work and Labour Nicole Cohen, University of Toronto, Mississauga
Student Lounge Editor Brennan Reid, Wilfrid Laurier University
Reporter Aeman Ansari, Ryerson University
Contributing Editors
Columnist – Ward’s Words Stephen Ward
Columnist – The Unknowable Country Sean Holman, Mount Royal University
Columnist – Education Matters Janice Tibbetts
Columnist – Media Musings Joe Banks, Algonquin College
Alternative Media Editor Patricia Elliott, University of Regina
Agricultural Journalism Mary Baxter, Robert Irwin, Don Stoneman, Better Farming Magazine
The Business of Journalism Kelly Toughill, University of King’s College
Computer Assisted Reporting Fred Vallance-Jones, University of King’s College
Covering Violence & Trauma Jane Hawkes, Canadian Journalism Forum on Violence & Trauma
Freedom of Expression Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (Grant Buckler)
The Future of News Ira Basen, CBC
Investigative Journalism Cecil Rosner, CBC
Contributing Editor Janice Neil, Ryerson University

Founding Editor

Ivor Shapiro, Ryerson University

Editorial Committee

Bruce Gillespie (chair)
Tamara Baluja
Paul Benedetti
Colette Brin
Charles Hays
Nicole Cohen
Lisa Lynch
Julie McCann
David McKie
Nicole Blanchett Neheli
Thomas Rose
Hélène Roulot-Ganzmann
Dan Rowe
David Secko
Ivor Shapiro
Romayne Smith Fullerton
Mark Taylor
Robert Washburn

J-Source was launched in the spring of 2007 by a collective of Canadian journalism schools and organizations led by the Canadian Journalism Foundation (chair: Thomas Kierans; executive director: Jody Jacobson), which was the project’s principal funder and administrator until December, 2013Initial development was made possible by grants from the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Graduate School for Advanced Communications at Ryerson University, the Canadian Media Research Consortium and the Ryerson Research Assistants Fund. Initial technical and administrative support by Joe Castaldo (School of Journalism, Ryerson University) and Ryerson’s Digital Media Projects team under the leadership of Mark Huras.

The founding Editorial Committee members were Paul Benedetti (Western University), Colette Brin (Université Laval), Marc-François Bernier (Université Ottawa), Mary Doyle (Western University), Patricia Elliott (University of Regina), Dean Jobb (University of King’s College), Brian Gabrial (Concordia University), Abby Goodrum (Ryerson University), Linda Kay  (Concordia University), Mary McGuire (Carleton University), Bill Reynolds (Ryerson University) and Stephen Ward (University of British Columbia).

Editors-in-chief: Ivor Shapiro (Ryerson University, January 2007-December 2009); Janice Neil (Ryerson University, January 2010-August 2013); Bruce Gillespie (Wilfrid Laurier University, September 2013-present).